英文 繁體中文

平等・多元・共融

職場上的跨性別人士

香港還沒有任何性別承認法,跨性別人士也無法受到香港《性別歧視條例》的保障,因為該條例只涵蓋基於個別人士身份是女性或是男性所受到的歧視。因此跨性別員工在工作環境上同樣可能會遇到不少困難:

洗手間問題

使用洗手間等實際情況是跨性別員工面對的常見問題。例如僱主對允許擁有男性生 理特徵的人士使用女洗手間有所保留。他們通常不會允許跨性別女性使用女洗手間,擔心這會使女性員工感到不安;因此往往唯有允許跨性別員工使用殘疾人士洗手間,而跨性別員工會覺得這項安排並不恰當。

私隱問題

大多數僱主提供的職場手冊都沒有特別為保障跨性別員工訂立專門政策,例如就保障跨性別員工性別認同狀況隱私權的應有政策,而有關的性別認同狀況是應該得到當事人同意,才可向第三方透露。

欺凌及騷擾

僱主的職場手冊一般禁止欺凌及騷擾行為,並舉例說明工作間不可接受的行為。 可是,這些例子通常不會包括跨性別員工所面對的各種情況。例如故意使用與員工性別認同不匹配的稱呼或代名稱謂,則有可能構成騷擾行為。

性別過渡

跨性別員工可能在入職後更改其性別至認同的性別身份。性別過渡有多種不同方式,但若僱主處理不當,有可能會導致相關員工遭受嘲笑、騷擾以及欺凌。僱主應訂明因應性別過渡所作相關轉變的執行程序,包括修改人事紀錄、更改工作證上的照片,以及準備通知同事和客戶有關消息的溝通方案。

歧視

在香港,出於僱員的性別認同,不論以何種形式歧視相關僱員,也不算違法。然而,僱主有責任為跨性別員工和雙性員工提供安全的工作環境。如果發生基於性別認同的歧視、騷擾或暴力行為,將視作違反《殘疾歧視條例》。

ENG CHI

Equality・Diversity・Inclusion

Transgender people in the workplace

There is no gender recognition law in Hong Kong, and transgender persons are not protected by Hong Kong's "Sex Discrimination Ordinance", which only covers discrimination based on whether an individual is a woman or a man. Therefore, transgender employees may also encounter a lot of difficulties in the work environment:

Washroom issues

Practical situations such as the use of restrooms are common problems faced by transgender employees. For example, employers have reservations about allowing people with male physiological characteristics to use women's restrooms. They usually do not allow transgender women to use the female hand wash room, fearing that it will upset female employees; Therefore, often only transgender employees are allowed to use the disabled hand wash room, and transgender employees will feel that this arrangement is not appropriate.

Privacy issues

Most workplace manuals provided by employers do not have a specific policy to protect transgender employees, such as a policy to protect the privacy of transgender employees' gender identity status, which should be disclosed to third parties with the consent of the parties concerned.

Bullying and harassment

Employers' workplace manuals generally prohibit bullying and harassment and give examples of unacceptable behavior in the workplace. However, these examples usually do not include the various situations faced by transgender employees. For example, the intentional use of a name or substitute name that does not match the gender identity of an employee may constitute harassment.

Gender transition

Transgender employees may change their gender to an identified gender identity after onboarding. There are many different ways of gender transition, but if the employer does not handle it properly, it may lead to ridicule, harassment and bullying of the employees concerned. Employers should prescribe procedures for implementing changes in response to gender transitions, including changes in personnel records, changes in photographs on work permits and communication plans to notify colleagues and clients of the relevant messages.

Discrimination

In Hong Kong, it is not illegal to discriminate against employees on the basis of their gender identity. However, it is the responsibility of employers to provide a safe working environment for transgender and intersex employees. Discrimination, harassment or violence on the basis of gender identity will be considered a violation of the "Disability Discrimination Ordinance".