英文 繁體中文

平等・多元・共融/h1>

變性人是性别認同與他们被認為出生时的性别不同的人。

"Trans”經常被用作transgender的簡寫。

當我們出生時,醫生通常會根據我們的身體看起來像說我們是男性還是女性。 大多數在出生時被標記為男性的人實際上被認定為男性,大多數在出生時被標記為女性的人長大後成為女性。 但有些人的性别認同–他們對自己是誰的天生認識-與他們出生時最初的預期不同。 這些人大多形容自己是變性人。

跨性别男性 / 女跨男

跨性别男性是一個在出生時被分配為女性的男人。 這通常被稱為女跨男 (FTM或F2M)。變性人的標籤並不總是與變性人的標籤互換,儘管這兩個標籤經常以這種方式使用。 跨性别是一個總括性術語,包括不同類型的性别變異人(包括變性人)。 許多跨性别男性選擇接受手術或荷爾蒙過渡,或兩者兼而有之,以符合其性别認同或减輕性别焦慮的方式改變其外觀。

跨性别女性 / 男跨女

跨性别女性是出生時被分配為男性的女性。 這通常被稱為男跨女 (MTF或M2F)。 跨性别女性可能會遇到性别焦慮或能過渡;這個過程通常包括激素替代療法,有時變性手術,這可以带來緩解和解决性别焦慮的感覺。 跨性别女性可能是異性戀,雙性戀,同性戀,無性戀,或認同其他術語(如酷兒)。

性別認同(英語:Gender identity)是一個人對自己性別的個人感覺。性别認同可以與一個人出生時的指定性别相關,也可以與之不同。性別表現通常反映一個人的性别認同,但情况並非總是如此。雖然一個人可能會表現出與特定性别角色相一致的行為、態度和外貌,但這種表現不一定反映出他們的性别認同。性别認同這個詞最初是由Robert Jesse Stoller在1964年發明的。

所有社會都有一套性别範疇,可以作為一個人在其他相聯繫的社會成員中形成身份認同的基礎。在大多數社會中,指定性別中的男性特質和女性特質之間存在基本的分歧,這是大多數人堅持的性别二元論,其中包括對性別(生物性別、性別認同和性別表現)所有方面的男性特质和女性特質的期望。有些人並不認同(或不完全認同)基於生物性別的性別指定,例如一些人是跨性別,性別酷兒者或非二元性別人群。有一些社會有第三性別分類。

性别認同通常在三歲時形成。三歲以後,改變是非常困難的,並嘗試改變性別認同會導致性别不安。生物和社會因素都被認為影響性別認同的形成。

性別不一致或性別不安是什麼?

性別不一致或性別不安是指一個人對於自己與生俱來的生理性別感到非常不適的情況。當一個人在心理上無法認同自己的生理性別,以及其生理性別在社會中所扮演及引申的性別角色,並強烈地相信自己應該屬於另一性別,這人便可能已經出現了性別不一致或性別不安的狀況。

甚麼是性別不一致或性別不安的成因?

直至現時為止,醫學界仍未能確定性別不一致或性別不安的成因,學者相信成因有多種,與先天基因、成長背景、家庭環境及社會因素均有關係。

如何知道自己出現性別不一致或性別不安?

他/她們有可能由兒童時代已持續相信自己的性別被錯配,亦會為自己性別錯配的問題所困擾,產生心理不安。

根據美國精神醫學會出版的《精神疾病診斷與統計手冊》,「性別不一致或性別不安」必須符合五項條件:

  • 必須要有證據顯示有強烈且持續的跨性別認同感。
  • 跨性別認同感不可以是因為認為另一種性別在文化上有更多優勢而產生的。
  • 同時也必須有證據顯示對於天生的性別有持續性的不適,或是感覺自己所屬的性別角色並不恰當。
  • 當事人不可同時患有雌雄同體的病症。
  • 必須要有臨床上的證據顯示當事人在社交、工作或其他重要功能上遭遇顯著的痛苦或損害。
  • 性別不一致或性別不安的狀況發展如何?

    性別不一致或性別不安人士經常需要壓抑內心對性別認同的不適,亦會受社會眼光與大眾的性別角色觀念影響,為自己渴望改變性別的想法感到不安、恐懼和羞愧。因此,性別不一致或性別不安人士較一般人容易出現抑鬱症、藥物濫用及自殘行為。故此,他/她們或對自身性別認同有懷疑者可尋求社工或其他專業人士的協助。醫院管理中提供這方面服務的醫療團隊成員包括: 精神專科醫生、臨床心理學家、外科醫生、護士、醫務社工和其他相關專科醫生。醫院管理局轄下的精神科專科診所會接受來自香港任何註冊醫生的轉介。

ENG CHI

Equality・Diversity・Inclusion

Transgender people are people whose gender identity is different from the gender they were thought to be at birth. “Trans” is often used as shorthand for transgender.

When we're born, a doctor usually says that we're male or female based on what our bodies look like. Most people who were labeled male at birth turn out to actually identify as men, and most people who were labeled female at birth grow up to be women. But some people's gender identity – their innate knowledge of who they are – is different from what was initially expected when they were born. Most of these people describe themselves as transgender.

Trans Man / Female To Male

A trans man is a man who was assigned female at birth. This is commonly referred to as female-to-male (FTM or F2M). The label of transgender man is not always interchangeable with that of transsexual man, although the two labels are often used in this way. Transgender is an umbrella term that includes different types of gender variant people (including transsexual people). Many trans men choose to undergo surgical or hormonal transition, or both (see sex reassignment therapy), to alter their appearance in a way that aligns with their gender identity or alleviates gender dysphoria.

Trans Woman / Male To Female

A trans woman is a woman who was assigned male at birth. This is commonly referred to as male-to-female (MTF or M2F). Trans women may experience gender dysphoria and may transition; this process commonly includes hormone replacement therapy and sometimes sex reassignment surgery, which can bring relief and resolve feelings of gender dysphoria. Trans women may be heterosexual, bisexual, homosexual, asexual, or identify with other terms (such as queer).

Gender identity is the personal sense of one's own gender. Gender identity can correlate with a person's assigned sex at birth or can differ from it. Gender expression typically reflects a person's gender identity, but this is not always the case. While a person may express behaviours, attitudes, and appearances consistent with a particular gender role, such expression may not necessarily reflect their gender identity. The term gender identity was originally coined by Robert J. Stoller in 1964.

All societies have a set of gender categories that can serve as the basis of a person's self-identity in relation to other members of society. In most societies, there is a basic division between gender attributes assigned to males and females, a gender binary to which most people adhere and which includes expectations of masculinity and femininity in all aspects of sex and gender: biological sex, gender identity, and gender expression. Some people do not identify with some, or all, of the aspects of gender assigned to their biological sex; some of those people are transgender, non-binary, or genderqueer. Some societies have third gender categories.

Gender identity is usually formed by age three. After age three, it is extremely difficult to change gender identity. Both biological and social factors have been suggested to influence its formation.

What is gender incongruence or gender dysphoria?

Gender incongruence or gender dysphoria is a condition in which a person feels very uncomfortable with his or her innate physical gender. When a person is psychologically unable to identify with his or her physiological gender, as well as the gender role played and implied by his or her physiological gender in society, and strongly believes that he or she should belong to another gender, the person may have symptoms of gender identity disorder.

What are the causes of gender incongruence or gender dysphoria?

Until now, the medical community has not been able to determine the causes of gender incongruence or gender dysphoria. Scholars believe that there are many causes of the disease, related to innate genes, background of growth, family environment and social factors.

How do I know I'm suffering from gender incongruence or gender dysphoria?

Patients may be from childhood has continued to believe that their gender is mismatched, but also for their gender mismatch problems plagued, resulting in psychological uneasines.

According to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of mental illness published by the American Psychiatric Association, "gender incongruence or gender dysphoria" must meet five conditions:

  • There must be evidence of a strong and persistent sense of transgender identity.
  • A sense of transgender identity cannot arise from the belief that the other gender has more cultural advantages.
  • At the same time, there must be evidence of persistent discomfort with natural gender, or the feeling that the gender role to which you belong is not appropriate.
  • The person may not suffer from androgynous conditions at the same time.
  • There must be clinical evidence that the person has suffered significant pain or damage in social, work or other important functions.
  • How do the symptoms of gender incongruence or gender dysphoria develop?

    People with gender incongruence or gender dysphoria often need to suppress their inner discomfort with gender identity, but also affected by the social vision and the public's concept of gender roles, feel uneasy, fear and shame for their desire to change the idea of gender. As a result, people with gender incongruence or gender dysphoria are more prone to depression, substance abuse and self-harm than the average person. Therefore, patients or those who have doubts about their gender identity may seek the assistance of social workers or other professionals. The medical team members who provide this service in hospital management include: psychiatrists, clinical psychologists, surgeons, nurses, medical social workers and other relevant specialists. Specialist psychiatric clinics under the Hospital Authority will accept referrals from any registered doctor in Hong Kong.