英文 繁體中文

平等・多元・共融

法律上的性別承認

所謂 ”法律上的性別承認”,一般是指某人的性別認同 (自我觀感為男性或女性) 在法律上獲得正式承認,並反映在公共登記冊和該人的主要身分證明文件上。這意味著,該人的性別在法律上被視為後天取得的性別,而不是其原生性別。若後天取得的性別獲法律承認,通常會對該人帶來重大的法律上的影響。舉例來說,英國《2004年性別承認法令》規定,申請人一旦獲發正式的性別承認證書,等於就所有目的而言,該人的性別為後天取得的性別。

目前,香港並無立法,就所有法律目的而言,承認某人重置的、後天取得的或屬意的性別。在某些情況下的性別變更能在身分鑑別的範籌得到承認,但在法律地位的層面上則未能獲得承認。目前的制度是,一名手術後變性人士可以申請更改其香港身分證上的性別標記,而他/她需要提供醫學證據以證明其性別在完成一系列療程後已經變改。

一般來說,有關人士可憑藉醫學證明書,根據《人事登記規例》(香港法例第177A章)第14及18條申請更改香港身分證上的性別標記,以反映其重置性別。倘性別重置手術是在香港以外進行,則醫學證明書應載述進行該手術醫生的醫學資格、取得資格的地點及其他聯絡資料。如難以從在香港以外進行重置手術的醫生取得相關證明,申請人可要求一名香港的註冊醫生為已進行的重置手術作出評估。

平機會表示對性別承認法立法的支持,認為法例不應規定跨性別人士完成變性手術,並指自我聲明(self-declaration)的方式,是立法的最佳模式。用意是尊重跨性別人士的權利,保障他們的尊嚴、身體完整和自主的權利,與國際人權標準一致。國際特赦組織亦支持一個快速,透明度高,和無障礙的申請程序給有需要人士,並在參考外國例子時作出仔細評估,防止引入有機會侵犯人權的條例。

平機會提交的意見書,表明性別承認法不應要求跨性別人士接受醫學診斷,就應有權改變性別,以尊重他們的人權。該會建議,當局可考慮要求跨性別者的醫生或心理醫生作出聲明,證明該人士正接受適當治療(clinical treatment),這些治療可以是心理輔導等,但不能要求是荷爾蒙或手術治療。平機會表明不同意採用英國模式,認為英國要求醫學診斷等規定,並不適合香港。該會表明:「性別認同立法的最佳模式,是一個允許自我聲明,且沒有或是只有最低的醫學要求。」

平機會就性別承認跨部門工作小組的諮詢文件提交意見 (2018.01.02)

ENG CHI

Equality・Diversity・Inclusion

Legal Gender Recognition

The so-called ”de jure gender recognition" generally means that a person's gender identity (perceived as male or female) is officially recognized in law and is reflected in the public register and in the person's primary identification document. This means that the person's sex is legally considered acquired sex, not its native sex. If the acquired gender is legally recognized, it will usually have a significant legal impact on the person. For example, the UK Gender Recognition Act 2004 provides that once an applicant has been issued a formal Gender Recognition Certificate, the person's sex is acquired for all purposes.

At present, there is no legislation in Hong Kong to recognize a person's changed, acquired or intended gender for all legal purposes. In some cases, gender changes can be recognized within the scope of identity, but not at the level of legal status. The current system is that a post-operative transgender person can apply to change the gender mark on his/her Hong Kong identity card, and he/she needs to provide medical evidence to prove that his/her gender has changed after a series of treatments.

In general, a person may, by virtue of a medical certificate, apply under Sections 14 and 18 of the registration of persons regulation (cap. 177A of the laws of Hong Kong) to change the gender mark on the Hong Kong identity card to reflect his or her reset gender. If sex reassignment surgery is performed outside Hong Kong, the medical certificate should state the medical qualifications of the doctor performing the surgery, the place of qualification and other contact information. If it is difficult to obtain the relevant certificate from a doctor who performed the replacement surgery outside Hong Kong, the applicant may request a registered doctor in Hong Kong to make an assessment of the replacement surgery performed.

The EOC expressed support for the Gender Recognition law legislation, arguing that the legislation should not provide for transgender people to complete sex reassignment surgery, and that the self-declaration approach is the best model for legislation. The intention is to respect the rights of transgender persons and to guarantee their rights to dignity, physical integrity and autonomy, consistent with international human rights standards. Amnesty International also supports a fast, transparent and accessible application process for those in need and a careful assessment when referring to foreign examples to prevent the introduction of regulations that have the opportunity to violate human rights.

The EOC submission stated that the Gender Recognition Act should not require transgender persons to receive a medical diagnosis, but should have the right to change their gender in order to respect their human rights. The council suggested that the authorities could consider requiring a transgender person's doctor or psychiatrist to make a statement that the person was receiving appropriate clinical treatment, which could be psychological counselling, but not hormonal or surgical treatment. The EOC did not agree with the British model, arguing that the British requirement for medical diagnosis, etc., is not suitable for Hong Kong. "The best model for gender identity legislation is one that allows self-declaration with no or only minimal medical requirements," the council said.

EOC Makes Submission on Consultation Paper by Inter-department Working Group on Gender Recognition (2018.01.02)